Frequently Asked Questions

Q. Who started South Dakota News Watch and why?

A. Jack Marsh and Randell Beck, retired after a combined 75 years in journalism, recognized that fewer newsroom resources made it harder to produce the kind of statewide coverage of important issues, from agriculture to education, that we know readers want. They spent 2½ years researching similar nonprofits around the country, working with media leaders in South Dakota and raising sufficient funds to launch operations in February 2018. Beck and Marsh still serve on the board, draw no salaries and have contributed personal funds to support News Watch.

Q. How is this organization funded?

A. South Dakota News Watch is registered as a nonprofit corporation in South Dakota and is an IRS designated 501(c)(3) organization. It is funded by voluntary donations and grants, from individuals, organizations and foundations. Names of donors are available for inspection on our website. No anonymous donations are accepted. Click here to see our most recent federal income tax return Form-990.

Q. Who produces the content?

A. Content director Bart Pfankuch, who joined the team at its inception in 2018, and investigative reporter Stu Whitney, who joined in 2022, as well as freelance journalists produce all the journalism published and distributed by South Dakota News Watch. CEO Carson Walker also serves as editor.

Q. How often is new content available?

A. We produce fresh content once or twice weekly, emphasizing unique enterprise journalism that is of wide public interest. Our news team also pursues additional in-depth packages and projects as time allows. To receive email alerts whenever new content is posted, click on the Newsletter tab at the top of the Home page and enter your email address.

Q. What are the media companies that have financially supported South Dakota News Watch?

A. Madison Daily Leader, Mitchell Daily Republic, Gray Television (KSFY-TV, KDLT-TV, KOTA-TV, KEVN-TV and KTIV-TV), Keloland Media Group (KELO-TV and, Argus Leader Media, Yankton Press & Dakotan, Rapid City Journal, Watertown Public Opinion, Aberdeen American News and Black Hills Pioneer. We also have received generous funding from the South Dakota Broadcasters Association and the South Dakota Newspaper Association.

Q. Who’s on the board of South Dakota News Watch?

A. Marci Burdick, Nick Kotzea, Stephany Beshara Chalberg, Arnold Garson, Christine Hamilton, Jon Hunter, Cory Myers, Travis Rhoades, Nancy Turbak Berry, Tim L. Waltner, Randell Beck and Jack Marsh.

Q. How are stories be selected?

A. Our news team, led by Walker, operates independent of the board. The team draws on many years of journalism experience, and in consultation with experts, advisory groups and sources, determines the topics that are covered. Ideas and tips may be emailed to

Q. Do certain media outlets have exclusive use of stories and other content generated by South Dakota News Watch?

A. No. As a nonprofit public trust, all journalism produced by News Watch is available to the public and our media partners. All content also is posted on our website,, and distributed through social media channels.

Q. How can I find out more about South Dakota News Watch?

A. For policy and governance questions or questions and suggestions about stories and their delivery, email us at